Practice Tournament for Kids

New York Chess Academy is hosting a friendly tournament with FREE admission! The purpose of this tournament is to have fun, make friends, and to let students build up their tournament experience. There will also be an optional Zoom call running alongside the event where you can meet other kids and socialize. This would be an excellent opportunity for students to apply and practice what they’ve learned.

Tournament Schedule:

  • February 21, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • March 21, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • April 18, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • May 16, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • June 20, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • July 18, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • August 15, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • September 19, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • October 17, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

  • November 21, 2021 (Sunday) - 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time

Sections:

  • Section 1: Ages 5-8 years

  • Section 2: Ages 9-16 years (younger kids are welcome to join this section)

Additional Information:

  • LiChess account is required

  • For unrated players up to 1000 USCF rating only

  • Arena Format. 10 minutes time control per player

  • This is a FREE tournament open to all NYCA students, families, and friends

  • Joining the Zoom meeting is optional

  • Zoom and LiChess tournament links will be sent out prior to the start of the event

UPDATE: Top 3 players for each section will receive a digital certificate and $10 credit applicable to any group programs.